MGA Carter Cup

The Carter Cup, the MGA’s Junior Stroke Play Championship, is an invitational event open to juniors who are 18 years of age or younger and who have not yet matriculated at college. It is named in honor of Michael P. Carter, an accomplished junior player and standout member of the Delbarton School golf team. Carter was a junior club champion at both Baltusrol and Winged Foot, and was a promising player on the golf team at Penn State University when he passed away in a car accident in 2002.


The event is a collaborative effort between Baltusrol and the MGA that was conceived in 2003. Featuring the best junior golfers in the Met Area, the Carter Cup is a 36-hole championship played over Baltusrol’s famed Upper and Lower Courses. Past winners include: Cameron Young, David Pastore, Cameron Wilson, Curtis Loop, Max Buckley, Chris DeForest, Morgan Hoffmann, Patrick Fillian, Brendan Tracy, Erick Alonso, and Ryan Rose.

Ng Defends Carter Cup Title

SPRINGFIELD, N.J. (August 2, 2017) – Unstable weather and lingering lightning around Baltusrol Golf Club halted play at the 15th Carter Cup early Thursday afternoon, ultimately leading the event to be shortened to 18 holes, with reigning champion Ethan Ng of New York City taking the title thanks to a morning round of 3-under 68 on the Upper Course.

The victory makes Ng the first-ever two-time champion of the Carter Cup, which is played in honor of accomplished Baltusrol junior player Michael P. Carter who passed away following a car accident in 2002. Ng claimed last year’s title in a playoff over Brent Ito at Winged Foot, which welcomed the championship as Baltusrol hosted the PGA Championship. (To read the entire article, please visit the MGA website:

Final Results & Photos