MGA Carter Cup


The Carter Cup, the MGA’s Junior Stroke Play Championship, is an invitational event open to juniors who are 18 years of age or younger and who have not yet matriculated at college. It is named in honor of Michael P. Carter, an accomplished junior player and standout member of the Delbarton School golf team. Carter was a junior club champion at both Baltusrol and Winged Foot, and was a promising player on the golf team at Penn State University when he passed away in a car accident in 2002.

The event is a collaborative effort between Baltusrol and the MGA that was conceived in 2003. Featuring the best junior golfers in the Met Area, the Carter Cup is a 36-hole championship played over Baltusrol’s famed Upper and Lower Courses. Past winners include: Cameron Young, David Pastore, Cameron Wilson, Curtis Loop, Max Buckley, Chris DeForest, Morgan Hoffmann, Patrick Fillian, Brendan Tracy, Erick Alonso, and Ryan Rose.

Diforio Claims First MGA Victory at 13th Carter Cup

SPRINGFIELD, N.J. (July 29, 2015) – Bobby Diforio, Jr. posted even-par rounds on both the Upper and Lower Courses at Baltusrol on Wednesday to secure his first-career MGA title at the 13th Carter Cup. The White Plains, N.Y., native’s 143 total earned him a one-stroke victory over Connor Daly of Bronxville, N.Y.

Read Full Article »

Final Results & Photos

View Final Results »
View Photo Gallery »